Frequently Asked Questions
These are the questions we receive most often. If yours is not among them, our Contact page will help you further.
Where can I change my login password / email address?
To change your login password, go to smart-me.com and log in with your existing user account. Click on your user name (top right) and select Settings (Einstellungen). Click on Change password (Passwort ändern).
If you no longer remember your password, you can reset it using the forgotten password function. However, this requires that a valid email address was used when the account was created.
How can I cancel my subscription?
To cancel your Cloud License subscription, go to smart-me.com and log in. Then click on the user name at the top right and select Settings (Einstellungen). Then go to Payment (Bezahlung), Cancel subscription (Abo kündigen) and confirm with Yes (Ja).
Why does my deleted meter reappear in the cloud?
When a meter is deleted in the cloud, all of its data in the cloud is deleted. If this meter sends data to the cloud again after the deletion, the cloud recreates the meter (including a new meter ID). However, the meter's past measurement data is irretrievably deleted. If/then actions or settings in Billing also do not refer to the "new" meter and would have to be reconfigured accordingly.
The following measures can prevent the meter from sending data to the cloud again and thus being recreated:
-
Install the meter in another account, to which it can then send its data.
-
Stop supplying power to the meter. However, as soon as the meter is powered again and has an internet connection, it will send data to the cloud again.
-
Delete the meter's Wi-Fi settings (see "Can the stored Wi-Fi information be deleted?"). Without internet, the meter can no longer send data.
Alternatively, you can also deactivate the meter in the cloud. A deactivated meter does not require any licences, and you can reactivate it at any time and access its data.
How do I deactivate my meter?
If the account uses the Basic licence model.
-
Log in to the smart-me portal
-
Select the meter
-
Click the gear icon at the top right
-
Advanced settings (Erweiterte Einstellungen)
-
Set Meter active (Zähler aktiv) to No (Nein)
-
Save (Speichern)
-
Return to the main overview or refresh the browser
If the account uses the Limited or Professional licence model.
-
Log in to the smart-me portal
-
Click on Configure (konfigurieren)
-
Click on Meter & Folder Configuration (Zähler/Ordner-Konfiguration)
-
Select the meter you want to deactivate
-
Click on Edit node (Knoten editieren) (on the green tile at the top)
-
Clear the Meter active (Zähler aktiv) checkbox
-
Click Save (Speichern).
Alternatively, you can drag the meters into a folder (e.g. "deactivated meters") and deactivate all meters at once by right-clicking the folder and selecting Bulk actions (Massenaktionen), Deactivate all meters (Alle Zähler deaktivieren).
Note on deactivated meters: A deactivated meter no longer costs a licence, but you also cannot access the meter's past data while it is deactivated. In addition, no new measurement data from the meter is stored in the cloud for the period during which it is deactivated.